top of page

Enough

Way back in 2005, my 3 year old daughter was placed on hospice care. A beautiful volunteer named Mrs. Helen would come and sit with Emma sometimes. Over the six months Emma was on hospice, Mrs. Helen became a cherished friend and mentor to me. She had raised 4 kids and shared that while she loved being a mother, it certainly had not always been easy. She told me that she had fallen into her own wells of frustration and darkness, which spilled over into her outlook on motherhood. She told me of a time when she realized her words, her actions and her attitude was too harsh toward her husband and kids. You see, her spirit was so very low as she fell into the trap of lies the enemy tries to ensnare MANY of us with...being enough. Finding contentment when you are pulled in so many directions. She said something to me I will never forget..."Motherhood is the legacy we leave behind." Seasons of life will change...one day you are knee deep in diapers and spit up, the next you are raising long haired teens who think they know more than you..and then they are gone. It goes by in a glimpse. But for today...you are where you are supposed to be. "Isn't the fear that I am not enough really the lie that God isn't enough? Grace embraces you before you prove anything, and after you've done everything wrong. Grace loves you when you are at your darkest worst, and wraps you in the best light" Ann Voscamp, The Broken Way I'm going to keep pushing away the lies the enemy wants me to believe and when the dark wells come, I will instead absorb this season of life... bare foot kids, science in the driveway, shaving cream messes, paint stains, a messy house...all covered in grace.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page