top of page

Back in Time

Recently I reconnected with a dear friend from the past. She is so much a part of my life story that she is in my book, My Journey With Emma. In my book, my first mom friend is named "Amy" and her little girl is"Riley". Her actual name is Rhonda and her daughter is Ruth. She also has a husband named Tom and a precious son named Max. I have her permission to share a bit of our story. It's laced with the overwhelming realization of just how important it is that we walk in transparency and together in brokenness. Rhonda and I met when our first born children were just 5 or 6 months old. Honestly, details are hazy for both of us but we both recall the relief of having a friend who wasn't judgmental and who could share in the exhaustion and navigation of first time motherhood. We spent hours together playing with our kids and hanging out at each other's homes surrounded by toys and sesame street. Peyton and Ruth learned to navigate the world of sharing Little People toys as Rhonda and I watched on. We often discussed our hopes of having more children.

We had our second children (my Emma and her Max) close together and this is where things went a little off kilter...and where I now know how important it is to not just put on a happy face and "fake it till you make it" because we can't rest in that mentality.

We can't walk with one another in that mentality. We aren't being the hands and feet of Jesus to one another when we carry that mindset.

This is a picture of baby Ruth and Peyton, 17 years ago. It took 17 years for Rhonda and I to look beyond the surface and into one another's hearts.

Rhonda shared with me some of the challenges she faced after Max was born and I shared with her what was really happening in my life at the time.

Bottom line, I wish I had known what Rhonda was facing. I wish I had been in the mindset to walk with her through her own journey. I was walking in my own pain as I navigated a child having special needs and ultimately a terminal illness, but as Rhonda and I have now come to realize, it's ok to be transparent and that when we share our brokenness we are healed.

The enemy doesn't want us to believe this, the enemy wants us to keep things hidden and surrounded by shame.

Jesus has covered our imperfection, our brokenness and our shame with His blood. It's hard to be transparent at times, we may fear judgement and rejection but when we are able to break the stronghold of hidden places, we can begin to walk together in mercy and grace.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page